DO YOU QUALIFY AS A COTTAGE FOOD OPERATION?

Will you prepare and/or package cottage

YES food products at the home where you live?

Is your cottage food product on the State

approved list? See list on CDPH Website:
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Pages/fdbCottageFood.aspx

S

A4 A\ 4

YOU DO NOT

Do you have one or fewer full-time NO QUALIFY AS A
equivalent employees, excluding
immediate family or household members?

COTTAGE FooD

OPERATION

YES )

y

Will your gross annual sales be limited to:
e $35,000 or less in 2013?
e $45,000 or less in 2014?
e 350,000 or less in 2015 and beyond?

4 YOU MAY QUALIFY AS A COTTAGE FOOD OPERATION
YES Continue to the

REGISTRATION AND PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

flowchart on page 2
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REGISTRATION AND PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

Have you contacted your local
Planning Department to verify if there
are any permitting requirements?

How will you be selling the approved

cottage food products you will be making?

Direct to the consumer and/or
Indirect through retailers.

Direct to the consumer.

You are classified a
“Class A” facility.

Contact your
local Planning
Department
for more

information.

Production of approved CFO food for indirect sales requires
a permit, fee and inspection from Env. Health (EH)

You are classified a
“Class B” facility.

Complete and submit the following Environmental
Health forms and their attachments for approval:
e CFO Registration/Permit application

Self-certification checklist (Class

[ )
e Environmental Health application
[ )

Pay applicable fees.

A)

A

Complete and submit the following Environmental
Health forms and their attachments for approval:
e CFO Registration/Permit application
e Operational Statement (Class B)
e Environmental Health application
e Pay applicable fees.

Do you plan off-site direct sales such
as at a community event, farmer’s
market, swap meet? Will products be
sold by weight?

!

Are the retail food facilities for your
indirect sales permitted by EH?

YES

\ 4
YOUR CLASS A
REGISTRATION IS

COMPLETE
Training Required*

ADDITIONAL PERMITS MAY BE REQUIRED:

Mobile Food Vendor Permit:

May be required for some types of off-site sales.
Call 559-600-3357 for more information.
Temporary Food Facility Permit:

These facilities may only operate at community
events. Call 559-600-3357 for more information.
Weights & Measures Permit:

Required if selling product by weight. Contact CA
Division of Measurement Standards 559-445-5403.

Indirect sales only
allowed at permitted

retail facilities.

YOUR CLASS B
PERMIT IS
COMPLETE

Training Required*

&

* Training Required:

\ 4
YOUR CLASS A
REGISTRATION IS

COMPLETE
Training Required*

more information, visit CDPH'’s website:

Within 3 months of obtaining permit or registration, all Cottage Food
Operators must attend a Food Processor Course instructed by the
California Department of Public Health (CDPH). Failure to complete training
may result in inactivation of your Cottage Food Registration or Permit. For

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Pages/fdbCottageFood.aspx

=>» Until the state develops a course, we will accept the

California Food Handler Card.

Rev 2013-01-18
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California Homemade Food Act

Frequently Asked Questions
AB 1616 (Gatto) - Cottage Food Operations
and AB 1252 Amendments

When does the new Cottage Food Law go into effect? The new law became effective
January 1, 2013. The law requires the California Department of Public Health (CDPH)
to carry out certain tasks associated with implementation, and imposes certain
responsibilities on local planning and environmental health jurisdictions. Further
information regarding the status of implementation can be obtained from your local
environmental health agency.

1. Whatis a cottage food operation (CFO)? A CFO is an enterprise at a private
home where specific low-risk food products that do not require refrigeration are
made or repackaged for sale to consumers.

2. What is meant by a private home? “Private home” means a dwelling, including
an apartment or other rented space, where the CFO operator resides.

3. Are there limitations on the size of CFO sales?
$35,000 or less in gross sales annually in 2013
$45,000 or less in gross sales annually in 2014
$50,000 or less in gross sales annually in 2015 and beyond

4. Can a CFO have employees? A CFO can have one full-time equivalent employee
(not counting family members or household members).

5. What cottage foods are CFOs permitted to produce? Only specific foods that
are defined as “non-potentially hazardous” are approved for preparation by
CFOs. These are foods that do not require refrigeration to keep them safe from
bacterial growth that could make people sick.

CDPH will establish and maintain a list of approved cottage food categories on
their website. The list included in the new law includes:

Cottage Food Law Frequently Asked Questions Page 1
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Baked goods without cream, custard, or meat fillings, such as breads,
biscuits, churros, cookies, pastries, and tortillas

Candy, such as brittle and toffee

Chocolate-covered nonperishable foods, such as nuts and dried fruit
Dried fruit

Dried pasta

Dry baking mixes

Fruit pies, fruit empanadas, and fruit tamales

Granola, cereals, and trail mixes

Herb blends and dried mole paste

Honey and sweet sorghum syrup

Jams, jellies, preserves, and fruit butter that comply with the standard
described in Part 150 of Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations.
Nut mixes and nut butters

Popcorn

Vinegar and mustard

Roasted coffee and dried tea

Waffle cones and pizzelles

Cotton candy

Candied apples

Confections such as salted caramel, fudge, marshmallow bars, chocolate
covered marshmallow, nuts, and hard candy, or any combination
thereof.

Buttercream frosting, buttercream icing, buttercream fondant, and gum
paste that do not contain eggs, cream, or cream cheese

Dried or dehydrated vegetables

Dried vegetarian-based soup mixes

Vegetable and potato chips

Ground chocolate

Seasoning salt

Flat icing

Marshmallows that do not contain eggs

Popcorn balls

Dried grain mixes

Fried or baked donuts and waffles

6. What are the two classifications of CFO’s?

“Class A” CFOs are only allowed to engage in “direct sales” of cottage
food.

“Class B” CFO’s may engage in both “direct sales” and “indirect sales” of
cottage food.

Cottage Food Law Frequently Asked Questions Page 2
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7. What is meant by “direct sale” of cottage food? “Direct sale” means a
transaction within the state of California between a CFO operator and a
consumer, where the consumer purchases the cottage food product directly
from the CFO. Direct sales include, but are not limited to, transactions at
holiday bazaars or other temporary events, such as bake sales or food swaps,
transactions at farm stands, certified farmers’ markets, or through community-
supported agriculture subscriptions, and transactions occurring in person at the
cottage food operation.

8. What is meant by “indirect sale” of cottage food? “Indirect sale” means an
interaction within the state of California between a CFO, a third-party retailer, and
a consumer, where the consumer purchases cottage food products made by the
CFO from a third-party retailer that holds a valid permit issued by the local
environmental health agency in their jurisdiction. Indirect sales include, but are
not limited to, sales made to retail food facilities including markets, restaurants,
bakeries, and delis, where food may be immediately consumed on the premises.

9. What are limitations on Internet sales and delivery of cottage food products? A
cottage food operator may advertise as well as accept orders and payments via
Internet or phone. However, a CFO must deliver (in person) to the customer. A
CFO may not deliver any CFO products via US Mail, UPS, FedEx or using any other
third-party delivery service. A cottage food operator may not introduce a CFO
product into interstate commerce. Additionally, CFO’s can only sell cottage foods
outside their county of residence only when the local environmental health
agency of the outside county allows it.

10. What are limitations on advertising of CFO products? It is unlawful for any
person to disseminate any false advertising of any food. An advertisement is
false if it is false or misleading in any particular. A cottage food product that is
found to be falsely advertised would be subject to enforcement action.

11. Do | need any special training or certification to make cottage foods? A person
who prepares or packages cottage food products must complete a food
processor course approved by CDPH within three months of being registered or
permitted and every three years during operation.

12. Does a CFO need a permit to operate?
Planning and zoning: All CFO’s need to obtain approval from their local city or

Cottage Food Law Frequently Asked Questions Page 3
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county planning department. The Homemade Food Act gives planning
departments several options to consider, so planning department requirements
may vary between jurisdictions.

Environmental Health: For “Class A” CFO’s (direct sale only), must complete an
annual registration with the local enforcement agency and submit a fully
completed “self-certification checklist” approved by the local environmental health
agency. For “Class B” CFQ’s (either direct and indirect or indirect only), must
obtain an annual permit from the local environmental health agency.

Other requirements: Check on other state or local requirements that may be
applicable, such as Sellers Permits through the Board of Equalization, or
Business Licenses through your city or county.

Registrations and permits are nontransferable between:
1) Persons
2) Locations
3) Type of food sales [i.e., direct sales (“Class A”) vs. indirect sales
(“Class B”)
4) Type of distribution

13. How much will the permit or registration cost the CFO? Each local jurisdiction
will establish fees that are not to exceed the cost of providing the service.
Additional fees may be charged for inspection and/or enforcement activities if
the cottage food operation is found to be in violation of California food safety
laws on cottage food operations.

14. Will my CFO registration/permit allow me to sell at other retail venues? There
may be health permits required to sell at other locations, such as Certified
Farmers’ Markets, Swap Meets or community events. Please check with your
local environmental health department for additional permit requirements.

15. How often will a CFO be inspected?

“Class A” CFO kitchens and food storage areas (referenced in the law as the
“registered or permitted area”) are not subject to initial or routine
inspections.

“Class B” CFO kitchens and food storage areas are inspected initially prior to
permit issuance and not more than once per year.

“Class A or B” (complaint inspections) - The local environmental health
agency may access, for inspection purposes, the registered or permitted area
where a cottage food operation is located if the representative has, on the
basis of a consumer complaint, reason to suspect that adulterated or

Cottage Food Law Frequently Asked Questions Page 4
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otherwise unsafe food has been produced by the cottage food operation or
that the cottage food operation has violated California food safety laws.

16. What are CFO operational requirements? All CFOs must comply with the
following:

e No domestic activity in kitchen during cottage food preparation

¢ Noinfants, small children, or pets in kitchen during cottage food
preparation

e Kitchen equipment and utensils kept clean and in good repair

e All food contact surfaces and utensils washed, rinsed, and sanitized
before each use

e All food preparation and storage areas free of rodents and insects

e No smoking in kitchen area during preparation or processing of
cottage food A person with a contagious illness shall refrain from
preparing or packaging cottage food products

e Proper hand-washing shall be completed prior to any food
preparation or packaging

e Water used in the preparation of cottage food products must be potable

e Cottage food preparation activities include:
0 Washing, rinsing, and sanitizing of any equipment used in food

preparation

0 Washing and sanitizing hands and arms
0 Water used as an ingredient of cottage food.

17. What has to be on my cottage food label?

All cottage food products must be properly labeled in compliance with the
Federal, Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. Sec. 343 et seq.).
The label must include:

)

The words “Made in a Home Kitchen” or “Repackaged in a Home Kitchen’
in 12-point type.

The name commonly used to describe the food product.

The name city, state and zip code of the cottage food operation which
produced the cottage food product. If the CFO is not listed in a current
telephone directory then a street address must also be declared. (A
contact phone number or email address is optional but may be helpful for
consumers to contact your business.

The registration or permit number of the CFO which produced the
cottage food product and, in the case of “Class B” CFOs, the name of the
county where the permit was issued.

The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of
predominance by weight, if the product contains two or more

Cottage Food Law Frequently Asked Questions Page 5
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ingredients.

e The net quantity (count, weight, or volume) of the food product, it must
be stated in both English (pound) units and metric units (grams).

e Adeclaration on the label in plain language if the food contains any of the
eight major food allergens such as milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts,
wheat, peanuts, and soybeans. There are two approved methods
prescribed by federal law for declaring the food sources of allergensin
packaged foods: 1)in a separate summary statementimmediately
following or adjacent to the ingredient list, or 2) within the ingredient list.

e The use of the following eleven terms are considered nutrient content
claims (nutritional value of a food): free, low, reduced, fewer, high, less,
more, lean, extra lean, good source, and light. Specific requirements have
been established for the use of these terms. Please refer to the Cottage
Food Labeling Guideline for more details.

e A health claim is a statement or message on the label that describes the
relationship between a food component and a disease or health-related
condition (e.g., sodium and hypertension, calcium and osteoporosis).
Please refer to the Cottage Food Labeling Guideline for more details.

e If the label makes approved nutrient content claims or health claims, the
label must contain a “Nutrition Facts” statement on the information
panel.

e Labels must be legible and in English (accurately translated information in
another language may also be included on the label). Labels, wrappers,
inks, adhesives, paper, and packaging materials that come into contact
with the cottage food product by touching the product or penetratingthe
packaging must be food-grade (safe for food contact) and not
contaminate the food.

In a permitted retail food facility (such as a restaurant, market, or

deli), cottage food products served without packaging or labeling

shall be identified to the customer as homemade on the menu, menu
board or in another easily accessible location that would reasonably
inform the consumer that the food or an ingredient in the food has been
made in a private home.

18. What is my legal responsibility as a cottage food operator in ensuring that my
food product is safe? Cottage food operators and/or their employees shall not
commit any act that may cause contamination or adulteration of food.

This would include making foods that are not on the approved food list and or
making foods under unsanitary conditions or with spoiled or rancid ingredients.

A cottage food operation that is not in compliance with the requirements of AB

Cottage Food Law Frequently Asked Questions Page 6
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1616 and AB 1252 would be subject to enforcement action taken by the local
environmental health agency and/or the California Department of Public
Health.

19. What if | find out an ingredient | used has been recalled because it can make
people sick or has been identified as the cause of food borne illness? You
should notify your local environmental health agency or CDPH immediately and
do not distribute anymore product. You may need to notify your customers and
request that they return or dispose of the products. For specific food recall
information, you can contact CDPH at: (916) 650-6500 or email:

FDBinfo@cdph.ca.gov.

20. What is my liability as a cottage food business operating out of my home? You
should check with your homeowner insurance company or your landlord if you
are operating out of a rental property. Many homeowner insurance policies will
not extend liability coverage to liabilities arising out of home-based businesses.

21. What other educational resources and guidelines are available to assist me in
ensuring | am making a safe food product? Please see the CDPH website or
contact your local environmental health agency for guidance and resource
documents or web links.

22. What can | do to ensure | am still meeting legal requirements if my cottage
food operation grows to exceed the gross annual sales limit and/or | decide
want to make another type of food product that is not on the approved food
list? Please contact CDPH for registration and facility requirements for food
processors.

23. Where can | file a complaint about a cottage food operation or cottage food
product? You can file a complaint at the CDPH toll-free complaint line —
1-800-495-3232.

Cottage Food Law Frequently Asked Questions Page 7
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County of Fresno

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
DAVID POMAVILLE, DIRECTOR

CALIFORNIA HOMEMADE FOOD ACT AB 1616 (GATTO)
REGISTRATION / PERMITTING FORM

CFO Business Name: Date:

CFO Address: CFO City: CFO zIP:
Owner Name: Owner Phone: Owner Cell: FA

Mailing Address (if different): Mailing City: Mailing ZIP: PR

Email Address: (check this email address for response to this paperwork from this office) PE

Website: CT

Office Use Only

1. Cateqories:

e Class A: CFO business selling directly to the people consuming the CFO food product.
e Class B: CFO husiness that sells to other retailers who will sell to the people consuming the CFO
food product. Class B facilities may also sell directly to the consumer.

[]1 Class A (Direct Sales Only) [] Class B ( Direct & Indirect Sales)

2. Prohibited Iltems: Initial if you agree to abide by the following:

Foods containing cream, custard, or meat fillings are potentially hazardous and are not allowed. Only
foods that are defined as “non-potentially hazardous” are approved for preparation by a Cottage Food
Operation (CFO). These are food items that do not require refrigeration to keep them safe from bacterial
growth that could be a cause of food-borne iliness.

Promotion, preservation and protection of the community’s health
1221 Fulton Mall / P.O. Box 11867 / Fresno, California 93775 / Phone (559) 600-3357 / FAX (559) 600-7629
Email: EnvironmentalHealth@co.fresno.ca.us < www.co.fresno.ca.us < www.fcdph.org
Equal Employment Opportunity < Affirmative Action <+ Disabled Employer
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CFO Registration / Permitting Form, Page 2 of 6

3. Self-Certification Checklist / Operational Statement:

[ ] Self-Certification Checklist completed and attached (“Class A” CFOs)

[ ] Operational Statement completed and attached (“Class B” CFOs)

4. Products:
Please check the items you will be preparing and/or selling (each product must be approved):

[ ] Baked Goods [ ] DryBaking Mixes [] Granola/Cereals [ ] Dried Mole Paste

[ ] candy [ ] Fudge/Caramel/Chocolates/Bars [ | Mustard [] Vinegar

[] Churros [ ] Frostings/icing/Fondant/Filings* [ Tortillas [ ] Fruit Butter™™

[] Popcom [ ] waffle Cones [] Pizzelles [ ] Jams/dellies*™

[ ] Dried Vegetables [ | Dried Veggie-based Soup Mixes [ ] Nuts/Nut Mixes [ ] NutButters**

[] Dried Fruit [ ] Fruit Empanadas [ ] Fruit Tamales/Pies [ ] Roasted Coffee

[ ] Dried Pasta [] Sweet Sorghum Syrup [ ] Potato/Vegetable Chips [ ] Herb/Spice Blends
[] Dried Tea [ ] Ground Chocolate [] Trail Mix [ ] Honey [ ] Seasoning Salts

[ ] Cotton Candy [ ] candied Apples [ ] Chocolate Covered Marshmallow, Nuts, Hard Candy, Dried Fruit, or Combos

*These foods are not allowed to contain meat, eggs, cream, or cream cheese. Examples of what are not allowed for CFO production:
bacon, ganache, cream cheese frosting, meringue, meringue powder, Dream Whip.

**These items must comply with standards described in Part 150 of Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations

http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfCFR/CFRSearch.cfm?CFRPart=150

Food descriptions: On a separate sheet of paper, provide a complete list all products that
you propose to make. For each product, provide a complete ingredients list. Do not combine
ingredients for all products in one list. Provide frosting, icing, filling, etc. ingredients separately from
any cake or cookie ingredients. You may decide to provide this list in the form of your sample
labels; one label per product or in a product list typed out.

5. Product Labeling: Initial if you agree to abide by the following:

Attach at least one printed sample label that you will use for your CFO products in actual size. See
example on next page for an idea of how to arrange the required information on your label.

For a detailed description, see the CDPH document “Labeling Requirements for Cottage Food
Products.” All cottage food products must be properly labeled in compliance with the Federal, Food,
Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. Sec. 343 et seq.) The label must include:



http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfCFR/CFRSearch.cfm?CFRPart=150
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Documents/fdbCFOfaqs.pdf
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Documents/fdbCFOfaqs.pdf
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The words “Made in a Home Kitchen” or “Repackaged in a Home Kitchen”, as applicable, in
12-point type or larger.

The product name. If the product name does not describe what the product is, then provide a
descriptive phrase or common name of the food product on the label as well.

The business name, city, state and zip code of the cottage food operation which produced the
cottage food product. If the firm is not listed in the current telephone directory then a street
address must also be declared. (A contact phone number or email address is optional but may
be helpful for consumers to contact your business.)

The registration or permit number of the cottage food operation which produced the cottage
food product and the name of the county where the permit was issued: “Issued in Fresno
County”.

The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight, if the
product contains two or more ingredients.

The net quantity (count, weight, or volume) of the food product. It must be stated in both English
(pound) units and metric units (grams).

A declaration on the label in plain language if the food contains any of the eight major food
allergens such as milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, and soybeans. There are
two approved methods prescribed by federal law for declaring the food sources of allergens in
packaged foods: 1) in a separate summary statement immediately following or adjacent to the
ingredient list, or 2) within the ingredient list.

CLASS B facilities: If the label makes approved nutrient content claims or health claims, the
label must contain a “Nutrition Facts” statement on the information panel.

0 The use of the following eleven terms are considered nutrient content claims (nutritional value of a
food): free, low, reduced, fewer, high, less, more, lean, extra lean, good source, and light. Specific
requirements have been established for the use of these terms. Please refer to the Cottage Food
Labeling Guideline for more details.

0 Ahealth claim is a statement or message on the label that describes the relationship between a
food component and a disease or health-related condition (e.g., sodium and hypertension, calcium
and osteoporosis). Please refer to the Cottage Food Labeling Guideline for more details.

Labels must be legible and in English (accurately translated information in another language
may accompany it).

Labels, wrappers, inks, adhesives, paper, and packaging materials that come into contact
with the cottage food product by touching the product or penetrating the packaging must be food-
grade (safe for food contact) and not contaminate the food.

Example:

K MADE IN A HOME KITCHEN \

Permit # FA0001234
Issued in Fresno County

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Walnuts
ABC Cookie Company, 123 Main St., Sunny CA, 12345

Ingredients: Enriched flour (Wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine,
mononitrate, riboflavin and folic acid), butter (milk, salt), chocolate chips
(sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, butterfat (milk), soy lecithin),
walnuts, sugar, eggs, salt, artificial vanilla extract, baking soda.

Contains: Wheat, eggs, milk, soy, walnuts
\ 1 Dozen, Net Wt. 11 oz. (312.98g)

Note: For the “Issued in County” — Identify the county where you are obtaining approval.
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6. Water Source:
Please check what type of water source will be used in Cottage Food Facility

|:| Name of Public Water System or Community Services District:

L] if you use a Private Water Supply®, identify the source (well, spring, surface, etc.):

* private Water Supply: Initial Water Quality Results. Check boxes below if initial water testing has
been completed. All testing must be done at a State Certified Laboratory. Attach lab results
documentation. (Testing Frequencies for Transient Non-Community Water Systems after initial testing)

1. Bacteriological Test (quarterly), 2. Nitrate Test (yearly), 3. Nitrite (every 3 years)

* Additional forms and water quality testing may be required if food is prepared from a home with a private well. You will need to contact a
local laboratory and have a certified water sampler secure a water sample from your residence.

7. Disposal of Waste:
Please check what type of treatment is used to dispose of waste

[] Public Sewer Service [ Private Septic System*

* In the event of septic system failure or plumbing problem, you are required to notify Fresno County Environmental Health Division
immediately.

8. Food Processor Course: Initial if you agree to abide by the following:

Within 3 months (90 days) of being approved to operate by the Fresno County Environmental
Health Division, please provide proof of completion of the required California Department of Public
Health (CDPH) food processor course. The website for CDPH is www.cdph.ca.gov. Proof of
completion may be faxed to Fresno County Environmental Health Division at 559-600-7629.

Until the State Department of Public Health develops a food processor course as required by law, we
will accept California Food Handler Card.

9. Emgloyee: Initial if you agree to abide by the following:

I understand that | may not have more than one full-time equivalent cottage food employee, not
including a family member or household member of the cottage food operator, working within the
registered or permitted area of a private home where the cottage food operator resides and where
cottage food products are prepared or packaged for direct, indirect, or direct and indirect sale to
consumers.
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10. Gross Annual Sales: Initial if you agree to abide by the following:

I understand that I will lose my CFO status and will need to become permitted in a commercial facility
if my CFO business exceeds the following gross annual sales figures for the calendar years in the
following table:

Calendar Year Gross Annual Sales

IN 2013 . e $35,000
IN 2004 . $45,000
In 2015 and in subsequent years.................... $50,000

Provide your previous year’s gross annual sales: $

Previous year: [_| Calendar: [] Fiscal (From-To): -

11. Delivery Limitations: Initial if you agree to abide by the following:

I understand that | may accept orders and payments via the internet, mail, or phone. However, all
“Class A” and “Class B” CFO products must be delivered directly (in person) to the customer. The
CFO products may not be delivered via US Mail, United Postal Service, FedEXx, or using any other
indirect delivery method as this is regulated/subject to CDPH registration and state and federal
requirements.

12. Operating Days/Times:

I am producing and/or packaging my CFO products(s) at my home during the following times
(include times with AM/PM):

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday| Thursday Friday \ Saturday

From:

To:

13. Distribution of CFO Product (include a separate sheet of paper if necessary):

Describe all of the ways you will distribute your CFO product to the consumer. Write all that apply
including ways that may not be in this list. (Examples: sales to customer from home, sales at
farmer’s markets, sales at community events, sales at swap meets, delivery per order, etc.)
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Class B Facilities: List the permitted retail food facilities will you sell your CFO product to for them
to resell it to their customers or use in their facility?

14. Owner’s Statement:

l, , agree to grant access to the local health department to
conduct an inspection of my cottage food operation’s primary domestic residence (mark one):

[] Class A: Inthe event of a [] Class B: For facility inspections and in
complaint or reported food-borne the event of a complaint or food-borne
illness. illness.

l, , agree to notify Fresno County Environmental Health
Division in writing prior to modifying my food list, type of operation, and/or method of selling,
distributing, or otherwise providing my CFO products to the consumer or retailers regardless of
whether or not the product is sold, consigned, or given away.

Signature of Owner: By signing below, | certify under penalty of perjury that all of the
information provided above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that |
understand the above and agree to operate my cottage food business within the scope of the
above limits and the provided attached documentation.

Signature Print Name Date



Assembly Bill No. 1616

CHAPTER 415

An act to add Chapter 6.1 (commencing with Section 51035) to Part 1 of
Division 1 of Title 5 of the Government Code, and to amend Sections
109947, 110050, 110460, 111955, 113789, 113851, 114021, 114023,
114390, 114405, and 114409 of, to add Sections 113758 and 114088 to,
and to add Chapter 11.5 {commencing with Section 114365) to Part 7 of
Division 104 of, the Iealth and Safety Code, relating to food safety.

[Approved by Governor September 21, 2012. Filed with
Scoretary of State Septomber 21, 2012.)

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST

AB 1616, Gatto. Food safety: cottage food operations.

Existing law, the Sherman Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Law (Sherman
Law), requires the State Department of Public Health to regulate the
manufacture, sale, labeling, and advertising activities related to food, drugs,
devices, and cosmetics in conformity with the Federal Food, Drug, and
Cosmetic Act. The Sherman Law makes it unlawful to manufacture, seli,
deliver, hold, or offer for sale any food that is misbranded. Food is
misbranded if its labeling does not conform to specified federal labeling
requirements regarding nutrition, nutrient content or health claims, and food
allergens. Violation of this law is a misdemeanor.

The existing California Retail Food Code provides for the regulation of
health and sanitation standards for retail food facilities, as defined, by the
State Department of Public Health. Under existing law, local health agencies
are primarily responsible for enforcing the California Retail Food Code.
That law exempts private homes from the definition of a food facility, and
prohibits food stored or prepared in a private home from being used or
offered for sale in a food facility. That law also requires food that is offered
for human consumption to be honestly presented, as specified. A violation
of these provisions is a misdemeanor,

This bill would include a cotiage food operation, as defined, that is
registered or has a permit within the private home exemption of the
California Retail Food Code. The bill would also exclude a cottage food
operation from specified food processing establishment and Sherman Law
requirements. This bill would require a cottage food operation to meet
specified requirements relating to training, sanitation, preparation, labeling,
and permissible types of sales and would subject a cottage food operation
to inspections under specified circumstances. The bitl would require a food
facility that serves a cottage food product without packaging or labeling to
identify it as homemade. The bill would establish various zoning and permit
requirements relating to cottage food operations.
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(f) At teast 32 other states have passed laws that allow small business
enfrepreneurs to use their home kitchens to prepare, for sale, foods that are
not potentially hazardous.

(g) Even some bake sales are currently illegal in California.

(h) It is the intent of the Legislature to enact a homemade food act
specifically designed to help address these challenges and opportunities.

SEC. 2. Chapter 6.1 {commencing with Section 51035} is added to Paxt
1 of Division I of Title 5 of the Government Code, to read;

Cuarrer 6.1, Corrage Foon OPERATIONS

51035, (a) A city, county, or city and county shall not prohibit a cottage
food operation, as defined in Section 113758 of the Health and Safety Code,
in any residential dwellings

ey CHassily a coltage food operation
property for zoning purposes.

(2) Grant a nondiscretionary permit to use a residence as any cottage

i .

he permit 1ssued
pmsuant to this paragraph shall be granted by the zoning administrator, or
if there is no zoning administrator, by the person or persons designated by
the planning agency to grant these permits, upon the certification without
a hearing,
(3) Require any cottage food operation to @ to use a
residence for its operation. The zoning administrator, or if there is no zoning
administrator, the person or persons designated by the planning agency to
handle the use permits, shall review and decide the applications, Th

he local government shall process any
required permit as economically as possible. Fees charged for review shall
not exceed the costs of the review and permit process. An applicant may
request a verification of fees, and the city, connty, or ¢ity and county shall
provide the applicant with a written breakdown within 45 days of the request.
The application form for cottage food operation permits shall include a
statement of the applicant’s right to request the written fee verification.
(b) In connection with any action taken pursuant to paragraph (2) or (3
ision (a}, a city, county, or city and county §
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SEC. 5. Section 110460 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to
read:

110460. No person shall engage in the manufacture, packmg, or holdmg
of any processed food i thi I
from the department

5 The reg:stratlon shall be valid for

one calendar year from the date of issue, unless it is revoked. The registration

shall not be transferable. This section shall not apply to a cottage {ood
operation fhat is regisiered or has a permit pursuant to Section 114365.

SEC. 6. Section 111955 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to
read:

111955. “Food processing establishment,” as used in this chapter, shall
mean aity room, building, or place or portion thereof, maintained, used, or
operated for the purpose of commercially storing, packaging, makmg,

eooking; mlxmg, processing;-botthing; canning; packing;: slaughteung, OF
otherwise preparing or handling food except restauranis. “Food processing
establishment” shall not include a cottage food operation that is registered
or has a permit pursuant to Section 114365,

SEC. 7. Section 113758 is added to the Health and Safety Code, to read;
113758 “Cottage food operation” means an enterprise that has §

: i ) not including a family
member o househoid member of the cottage food operator, within the
registered or permitted area of a private home where the cottage food
operator resides and where cottage food products are prepared or packaged
for direct, indirect, or direct and indirect sale to consumers pursuant to this
part, In 2013 he entelprls,e shall not have more than thlrty-ﬁve thousand

in gross annual sales in the calendar year. Commencing in 2015, and each
subsequent year thereafter, the enterprise shall not have more than fifty

thousand dollars ¢ 3 in gross annual sales in the calendar year. A
cottage food operation includes both of the following:

(1) A“Class A” cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation
that may engage only in direct sales of cottage food products from the cottage
food operation or other direct sales venues described in paragraph (4) of
subdivision (b).

(2) A“Class B” cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation
that may engage in boih direct sales and indirect sales of cottage food
products from the cottage food operation, from direct sales venues described
in paragraph (4) of subdivision (b}, from offsite events, or from a third-party
retail food facility described in paragraph (5) of subdivision (b).

{b) For purposes of this section, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Cottage food employee” means an individual, paid or volunteer,
who is involved in the preparation, packaging, handling, and storage of a
cottage food product, or otherwise works for the cottage food operation. An
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(8) Vending machines,

(9) Certified farmers’ markets, for purposes of permitting and enforcement
pursuant to Section 114370.

(10) Farm stands, for purposes of permitting and enforcement pursuant
to Section 114375.

{c) “Food facility” does not include any of the following:

(1) A cooperative arrangement wherein no permanent facilities are used

0 HisaN 5y é :

(3) A church, private club, or other nonprofit association that gives or
sells food to its members and guests, and not to the general public, at an
event that occurs not more than three days in any 99-day period.

(4) A for-profit entity that gives or sells food at an event that occurs not
-more-than-three-days-in-a-90=day period -for-the-benefit-ef :a-nenprofit
association, if the for-profit entity receives no monetary benefit, other than
that resulting from recognition from participating in an event.

{5) Premises set aside for wine tasting, as that term is used in Section
23356.1 of the Business and Professions Code and in the regulations adopted
pursuant to that section, that comply with Section 118375, regardless of
whether there is a charge for the wine tasting, if no other beverage, except
for bottles of wine and prepackaged nonpotentially hazardous beverages,
is offered for sale for onsite consumption and no food, except for crackers,
is served.

(6) Premises operated by a producer, selling or offering for sale only
whole produce grown by the producer, or shell eggs, or botl, provided the
sales are conducted on premises controlled by the producer.

(7y A commercial food processing plant as defined in Section 111955,

(8) A child day care facility, as defined in Section 1596.750,

(9) A community care facility, as defined in Section 1502,

(10) A residential care facility for the elderly, as defined in Section
1569.2.

{11) A residential care facility for the chronically ill, which has the same
meaning as a residential care facility, as defined in Section 1568.01.

(12) Premises set aside by a beer manufacturer, as defined in Section
25000.2 of the Business and Professions Code, that comply with Section
118375, for the purposes of beer tasting, regardless of whether there is a
charge for the beer tasting, if no other beverage, except for beer and
prepackaged nenpotentially hazardous beverages, is offered for sale for
onsite consumption, and no food, except for crackers or pretzels, is served.
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SEC. 9. Section 113851 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to

read:
11385 . +(a). “Permit’means.the.document.dssued.b
at authorizes a person to operate a food facili

SEC. 10. Section 114021 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to
read:

114021, (a) Food shall be obtained from sources that comply with all
applicable laws.

(b) Food stored or prepared in a private home shall not be used or offered
for sale in a food facility, unless that food is prepared by a cottage food
operation that is registered or has a permit pursuant to Section 114365,

SEC. 11. Section 114023 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to
read:

114023. Food in a hermetically sealed container shall be obtained from
a food processing plant that is regulated by the food regulatory agency that
has jurisdiction over the plant, or from a cottage food operation that produces
jams, jellies, and preserves and that is registered or has a permit pursuant
to Section 114365.

SEC. 12. Section 114088 is added to the Health and Safety Code, (o
read:

114088. A cottage food product, as defined in Section 113758, that is
served by a food facility without packaging or labeling, as described in
Section 114365, shall be identified to the consumer as homemade on the
menu, menn board, or other location that would reasonably inform a
consumer of its homemade status.

SEC. 13. Chapter 11.5 (commencing with Section 114365} is added to
Part 7 of Division 104 of the Health and Safety Code, to read:
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oitage food operation shall not be open for business
: i from the local enforcement agency in a manner
approved by the Jocal enforcement agency to engage in the direct and indirect
sale of cottage food products.

(B) (i) A “Class B” cottage food operation shall comply with the
requirements described in clauses (i) to (vi), inclusive, of subparagraph (A}
of paragraph (1} in addition to the other requirements of this chapter.

(i) The local enforcement agency shall issue a permit number after an
initial inspection has determined that the proposed “Class B” cottage food
operation and its method of operation conform to this chapter.

(C) Except as provided in this subparagraph, a “Class B” cottage food
operation R BEAITE b
local enforcement agency.

is located only if the representative has, on the basis of a consumer
complaint, reason {o suspect that adulterated or otherwise unsafe food has
been produced by the cottage food operation, or that the coftage {ood
operation has violated this chapter.

(i1) Access under this subparagraph is limited to the permiited area #nd
solely for the purpose of enforcing or administering this chapter.

(D) (1) A “ClassB"” cottage food operation shall be authorized to€ngag
in the indirect sales of cottage food products within the county in ¥hich tHe
“Class B” cottage food operation is permitted.

(i) A county may agree to allow a “Class B” cottage fo0d operation
permitted in another county to engage in the indirect sales 61 cottgée food
products in the county.

(b) A registration or permit, once issued, is epistratio
nermit shall be valid only for the
by that registration Or pernpt, and, upless

suspended or revoked for cause, for the Bindicaled.

114365.2. A cottage food operation that is/tregisteréd or has 4 permit
issned pursuant to Section 114365 shall beConsidepéd a restfieted foo
service facility for purposes of, and subject t¢, Sectiops 113953.3, 1142359.5,
114285, and 114286. A cottage food opjtation tlfat is registered or has 2
Armit also shall U¥subject to Sections 113967, 113973, 113980, 114259.5,
114405, 114407, 134409, 114411, and 114413, and to all of the i
fequirdnents: / N
a) A\ person\with\a

IR

products s (a1
eparation

clean and

Food contaminated

by employee

Use of gloves

Handwashing

Animal Prohibition

Requirements for
food

Private home living\
or sleeping
quarters prohibition

Closure

Interference

living and sleeping
area separated
from retail

describedNn Section 113869, except

o0

Permit required

Notice of Decision

Potable water
definition =
transient
noncommunity
water systems
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(11) Jawms, jellies, preserves, and fiuit butter that comply with the standard
described in Part 150 of Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

(12) Nut mixes and nut butters.

(13} Popecomn.

{14) Vinegar and mustard,

(15) Roasted coffee and dried tea.

(16) Wa

p;oducts list shall be posted on the dcpaltment 5 cotiage food program
Internet Web site, to also be known as the program Internet Web site for
purposes of this chapter. Any change to the approved food products list
shall become effective 30 days after the notice is posted. The notice shall

state-thereason-forthe change; theanthority-for-the-change; and-thehature -

of the change. The notice will provide an opportunity for wriiten comment
by indicating the address to which to submit the comment and the deadline
by which the comment is required fo be received by the depariment. The
address to which the cormment is fo be submitted may be an electronic site.
The notice shall allow at ieast 20 calendar days for comments to be
submitted. The department shall consider all comments submitted before
the due date. The department may withdraw the proposed change at any
time by notification on the program Internet Web site or through notification
by other clectronic means. The approved food products list described in
subdivision {b), and any updates to the list, shall not be subject to the
administrative rulemaking requirements of Chapter 3.5 {commencing with
Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

(2) The State Public Health Officer shall not remove any items from the
approved food products list unless the State Public Health Officer also posts
information on the program Internet Web site explaining the basis upon
which the removed food item has been determined to be potentially
hazardous.

114365.6. (a) The State Public Health Officer shall provide technical
assistance, and develop, maintain, and deliver commodity-specific training
related to the safe processing and packaging of cottage food products to
local enforcement agencies.

(b) Local enforcement agencies may collect a surcharge fee in addition
o any permit fees collected for “Class B” cottage food operations. The
surcharge fee shall not exceed the reasonable costs that the department
incurs through the administration of the training described in subdivision
(a) to protect the public heaith. The surcharge fees collected shall be
transmitted to the department in a manner established by the department to
be deposited in the Food Safety Fund. The department shall use the surcharge
fees only to develop and deliver the training described in subdivision (a) to
local enforcement agency personnel on an ongoing basis.

SEC. 14. Section 114390 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to
read:
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revoked. A written request for a hearing shall be made by the permitholder
within 15 calendar days after receipt of the notice. A failure to request a
hearing within 15 calendar days after receipt of the notice shall be deemed
a waiver of the right to a hearing. When circumstances warrant, the hearing
officer may order a hearing at any reasonable time within this 15-day period
to expedite the permit suspension or revocation process.

(¢) The hearing shall be held within 15 calendar days of the receipt of a
request for a hearing. Upon written request of the permitholder, the hearing
officer may postpone any hearing date, if circumstances warrant the action.

SEC. 16. Section 114409 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to
read:

114409, (a) If any imminent heaith hazard is found, unless the hazard
is immediately corrected, an enforcement officer may tempaorarily suspend
the permit and order the food facility or cottage food operation imumediately

(b) Whenever a permit is suspended as the result of an imuminent health
hazard, the enforcement officer shall issuc to the permitholder a notice
setting forth the acts or omissions with which the permitholder is charged,
specifying the pertinent cede section, and informing the permitholder of the
right to a hearing.

(¢) Atany time within 15 calendar days after service of a notice pursuant
to subdivision (b}, the permitholder may request in writing a hearing before
a hearing officer to show cause why the permit suspension is not warranted.
The hearing shall be held within 15 calendar days of the receipt of a request
for a hearing. A failure to request a hearing within 15 calendar days shall
be deemed a waiver of the right to a hearing.

SEC. 17. Section 8.5 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section
113789 of the Health and Safety Code proposed by both this bill and
Assembly Bill 2297, It shall only become operative if (1) both bills are
enacted and become effective on or before Januvary 1, 2013, (2) each bill
amends Section 113789 of the Health and Safety Code, and (3) this bill s
enacted after Assembly Bill 2297, in which case Section 8 of this bill shall
not become operative.

SEC, 18. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section
6 of Article XII'B of the California Constitution for certain costs that may
be incurred by a local agency or school district because, in that regard, this
act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or
changes the penalty for a crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section
17556 of the Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within
the meaning of Section 6 of Article X111 B of the California Constitution,

However, if the Commission on State Mandates determines that this act
contains other costs mandated by the state, reimbursement to local agencies
and school districts for those costs shall be made pursuant to Part 7
(comumencing with Section 17500} of Division 4 of Title 2 of the Government
Code.

O
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