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A Tiny Home is a structure intended for separate, independent living quarters for 
one household that meets these six conditions: 

1. Is licensed and registered with the California Department of Motor Vehicles and meets ANSI
119.2 or 119.5 requirements;

2. Is towable by a bumper hitch, frame-towing hitch, or fifth-wheel connection. Cannot (and is
designed not to) move under its own power. When sited on a parcel per requirements of this
Code, the wheels and undercarriage shall be skirted;

3. Is no larger than allowed by California State Law for movement on public highways;

4. Has at least 100 square feet of first floor interior living space;

5. Is a detached self-contained unit which includes basic functional areas that support normal
daily routines such as cooking, sleeping, and toiletry; and

6. Is designed and built to look like a conventional building structure.

Can I have a Tiny 
Home on my 

Property? 

Backyard Cottage 

FMC Section 15-2754 

• Minimum lot size of 6,000 square feet (int erior lot)
• Minimum lot size of 5,000 square feet (corner lot)
• Maximum floor area: 440 square feet
• Kitchens, including cooking devices are permitted
• No additional parking required
• Separate utility meters and/or addresses a re not permitted
• Must be located behind the primary dwelling unit, unless attached and integral to the 

primary dwelling unit
• Unit entrance must not be visible from the street (unless unit is being constructed on a 

corner lot and the entrance is oriented to th e opposite street as the primary residence)
• Only one accessory dwelling unit may be p ermitted per lot
• Not allowed as the primary dwelling unit

For More Information, navigate to the section 15-2754 of the Fresno Municipal Code 
(FMC). 

Property must be located in a residential district and meet minimum 
lot standards (Click here to determine the zoning of your property) 

A “Tiny Home” is considered as an Accessory Dwelling Unit and falls 
under the “Backyard Cottage” category 

https://library.municode.com/ca/fresno/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=MUCOFR_CH15CIDECOINRE_PTIIIREAPSOALDI_ART27STSPUSAC_S15-2754SEDWUNBACOACLIQU
https://library.municode.com/ca/fresno/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=MUCOFR_CH15CIDECOINRE_PTIIIREAPSOALDI_ART27STSPUSAC_S15-2754SEDWUNBACOACLIQU
https://library.municode.com/ca/fresno/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=MUCOFR_CH15CIDECOINRE_PTIIIREAPSOALDI_ART27STSPUSAC_S15-2754SEDWUNBACOACLIQU
http://gis4u.fresno.gov/zoningcode/


• Units shall conform to the height, setbacks, lot coverage and other zoning
requirements of the zoning district in which the site is located.  Most of these
requirements are found in FMC 15-903 (click hyperlink to navigate to section).

• If unit is detached, there must be a minimum of six feet from the primary residence,
or 10 feet if there is an entry from either one of the units into the space between.

• Maximum building height of thirty feet

• For two story buildings, there shall be no openings, such as windows and doors,
within 10 feet from an interior side or a common rear property line with another
single-family home. (Privacy reasons)

• Clerestory windows (a high section of wall that contains windows above eye level to
admit light and fresh air), six feet from the floor of the interior of the unit are
excepted

• A driveway must be provided (as per the underlying district)

• An all-weather surface path (pedestrian access) to the unit must be provided from
the street frontage

• Mechanical equipment shall be located on the ground or, in the case of a tiny house
on wheels, incorporated into the structure, but shall in no case be located on the
roof

• Home occupants are permitted in the unit pursuant to Section 15-2735 (Home unit
must be owner occupied, accessory unit may be rented)

The following specifications also apply to Tiny Homes 
and Backyard Cottages 

Other Requirements 

• A concrete pad is required in the location where the tiny home will be
parked.  A grading permit is required.

• The Tiny Home shall be connected to sewer and water.  Utility permits are
required for these connections.

• An indemnity agreement as well as a covenant verifying owner occupancy
of at least one of the two units is required.

• Official documentation from Pacific West Associates or National
Organization of Alternative Housing or similar agency or certified entity,
verifying that ANSI standards have been met.

https://library.municode.com/ca/fresno/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=MUCOFR_CH15CIDECOINRE_PTIIBAOVDI_ART9RESIMIDIRS_S15-903DEMADEST
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Planning Review Fees 

$328 (zone clearance) 

+ 

$275 (traffic level 2 review fee) 

+ 

$1,094 (Covenant Fee) 

= 

$1,697 (Total costs) 

Architectural Compatibility 
Will your accessory dwelling unit be visible 

from a public street or park? 

If visible from a public street or park, the 
architectural design, roofing material, exterior 
materials and colors, roof pitch and style, type 
of windows, and trim details of the unit shall be 

substantially the same as and visually 
compatible with the primary dwelling. 

Submittal Requirements and Processing 

• Application will processed as an Accessory Dwelling Unit Zone
Clearance.  Information regarding this process can be found here.

• Submittal Requirements for Planning Approval (building permits will
be processed separately):

o Application

o $1,697 fee

o Scaled and dimensioned site plan/plot plans (3 total)

o Elevation drawings or pictures of proposed structure (3)

o Operational Statement

o Recent Title report

o Owner Authorization or owner signature on application

o ANSI certification

https://www.fresno.gov/darm/wp-content/uploads/sites/10/2016/10/ZC-Handout-Final_Rev.pdf
https://www.fresno.gov/darm/building-safety/
https://www.fresno.gov/darm/wp-content/uploads/sites/10/2016/10/SingleFamilyDuplex-ZC-App.pdf
https://www.fresno.gov/darm/wp-content/uploads/sites/10/2016/10/Op-Statement-Template-July-2017.pdf
https://www.fresno.gov/darm/wp-content/uploads/sites/10/2016/10/Owner-Authorization.pdf

	1. Is licensed and registered with the California Department of Motor Vehicles and meets ANSI 119.2 or 119.5 requirements;
	2. Is towable by a bumper hitch, frame-towing hitch, or fifth-wheel connection. Cannot (and is designed not to) move under its own power. When sited on a parcel per requirements of this Code, the wheels and undercarriage shall be skirted;
	3. Is no larger than allowed by California State Law for movement on public highways;
	4. Has at least 100 square feet of first floor interior living space;
	5. Is a detached self-contained unit which includes basic functional areas that support normal daily routines such as cooking, sleeping, and toiletry; and
	6. Is designed and built to look like a conventional building structure.

