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On January 1, 2014, the State of California mandated enforcement of the 2013 California Building
Standards Code. In an effort to enhance life safety within dwellings units, California Residential
Code sections R314.6, R315.2 and California Building Code sections 907.2.11.6, 420.6.2.2 require
the retrofit of Smoke and Carbon Monoxide alarms in existing dwelling units when alterations,
repairs or additions exceeding $1,000 in value are made, and permits are required.

All Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarms shall be approved and listed by the Office of the State
Fire Marshall. Where the repairs or alterations do not result in the removal of wall or ceiling
finishes, made to exterior surfaces of the dwelling such as roofing or siding, the addition of a
patio/porch or deck, or there is no access by means of attic, basement or crawl space, the alarms
may be solely battery operated and not interconnected. Smoke alarms shall be replaced after 10
years from the date of manufacture. Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarms are
permitted.

Building and Safety Inspection staff shall as part of the inspection process require access to the
inside of the dwelling units to verify the proper installation of both Carbon monoxide and Smoke
detectors. This shall be a condition of final approval for all permits subject to the requirements.
When smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors are to be inspected shall be determined
based on the type of permit and the required inspections. Please consult the Building and Safety
Services staff for details.

It is the responsibility of the dwelling unit owner to comply with ALL State of California
regulations with regards to these requirements. Even though the local Building Department
is only responsible for enforcing the provisions of the California Building Code and
California Residential Code, compliance is required whether or not there is an association
with building permit requirements.



Alarms must be installed in all of the following locations within the existing dwelling:

>

Outside each separate sleeping area in the immediate vicinity of the bedrooms and located
a minimum 36” from return air supply ducts, on the kitchen side. (Hallways Leading To
Bedrooms) (Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarms)

On each story level of the dwelling, including basements and habitable attic rooms. (Smoke
and Carbon Monoxide Alarms)

Inside all bedrooms (Smoke Alarms)
Inside Bedrooms with gas burning fireplaces or heaters. (Carbon Monoxide Alarms)

Minimum 20 feet horizontal distance from a permanently installed cooking appliance unless
would prohibit placement in other locations as required by the code. (Smoke Alarms)

Required locations shall be minimum 36 inches from supply registers of a forced air heating
or cooling system. (Smoke Alarms)

Installation near bathrooms with a shower or bathtub shall be no less than a 3 foot
horizontal distance from the door or opening. (Smoke Alarms)

For coffered or sloped ceilings, installed on the highest portion of the ceiling. (Smoke
Alarms)

SMOKE & CARBON MONOXIDE ALARMS

Example of Location for Smoke & CO Alarms
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(Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarms
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Special Considerations:

Hallways over 40 ft in length need a smoke alarms at each end. Smoke detectors are either to be ceiling or wall
mounted. Wall mounted smoke alarms are not to be located lower than 12 inches below the ceiling. Smoke
alarms are not to be mounted within 4 inches of a wall/ceiling corner.




