Appointments to Downtown Citizens Committee Announced

The City of Fresno today announced the members of a new community advisory committee, established to help guide future downtown development. The 21-member committee will assist with the creation of the City’s Fulton Corridor Specific Plan, encompassing a variety of unique project areas including the Cultural Arts District, Central Business District, South Stadium zone and Chinatown.

The committee includes a variety of downtown residents, business and property owners and others with expertise in real estate, planning, and community development. Eighteen of the members were appointed by Councilmember Cynthia Sterling, whose district encompasses the entire Specific Plan area. Mayor Ashley Swearengin appointed three members of the committee.

“This citizens committee is the linchpin of our strategy for revitalizing the urban core of our city,” Mayor Swearengin said. “The work they do will provide the foundation we need to create a vibrant and successful downtown in the years ahead.”

Members were chosen following an extensive outreach process, led by the City’s Downtown and Community Revitalization Department. Mayor Swearengin will participate in the committee’s first meeting on Tuesday, September 29th.

Elliott Balch, Fresno’s Downtown Revitalization Manager, said committee members will be making a significant contribution to Fresno’s future. “Through the Fulton Corridor Specific Plan, the community will be setting new standards for development downtown and putting its vision for the area into law,” he said.

The names of committee members are included below. For more information on the Fulton Corridor Specific Plan, please contact Wilma Quan, Urban Planning Specialist, at 559-621-8371 or

Committee members:

Joyce Aiken - Former director, Fresno Arts Council; an original Fulton Mall artist

Alan L. Allen - Retired contractor who has restored Fulton Mall buildings he owns

Rosemarie Amaral - Fresno Co. Dept. of Public Health, focuses on planning and fitness

Donavan Byrn - Cultural Arts District resident and Creative Fresno mural coordinator

James J. Connell - Executive Director, Poverello House

Raul De Alba - Family owns several Fulton Mall businesses and property since 1989

Morgan Doizaki - Mgr., Fresno Discount Mall; President, Chinatown Revitalization Inc.

Garrett Fahrmann - Senior Vice President for Operations, Fresno Grizzlies

Victoria Gonzales - Commercial real estate broker active downtown; former DTA director

James Haron - Owner of Haron Jaguar/Land Rover on Ventura Avenue

Eric A. Kalkowski - Co-owner of Kalkowski Construction, a 10-year downtown business

Saundra King - Owner and manager of the Security Bank building at 1060 Fulton Mall

Gary Lanfranco - Third-generation owner of Cosmopolitan Tavern & Grill in Chinatown

Nancy Marquez - Board member and founding member of Cultural Arts District Assn.

Kelvin Morgan - Sr. Pastor, Harvest of Harmony Int’l Church; active in Chinatown cmty.

Roger Palomino - 15-year CEO of Fresno Co. Economic Opportunities Commission

Timothy Schulz - Construction supt. for several recent downtown mixed-use projects

Nanette Stockle - Office manager and co-owner of Mecca Billiard Supply for 20 years

Maribel Vera-Anaya - Owner, Joe’s Steakhouse & Grill on Van Ness Avenue

Brent Weiner - Third-generation owner of Procter’s Jewelers on Fulton Mall

Allysunn Williams - Director of Planning & Community Devt., Fresno Housing Authority