The City Government

Fresno, recognized as an All American City in 2000, is a full-service charter city operating under a strong mayor form of government. There are seven Council Members who are elected by district to four-year overlapping terms. The council appoints the city Attorney and City Clerk. The Mayor is elected at large, does not serve on the Council, but has veto power over certain actions taken by Council.

The City Manager, who is appointed by the Mayor, is responsible for appointing all other department heads in 13 different departments including General Services, Planning and Development, Economic Development is Downtown and Community Revitalization, Police, Public Works, Finance, Budget, Airports, Information Services, Fire, Parks, Recreation and Community Services, Transportation, and Public Utilities. The City operates two airports (Fresno Yosemite International services most major cities), a bus system, and water, wastewater and solid waste utilities.

To browse all City departments, please click here.